Hurry Up and Wait (Quick Little TMI)

Remember how I don’t really have any shame? It’s important that you remember that. Read on at your own risk.

I don’t have an induction date yet. I see my OB again tomorrow, and then Tuesday. Tuesday she’s supposed to check and see what state my cervix is in.

I’m not going to lie, I was really hoping she’d give me an actual date at this past Tuesday’s appointment. In fact, I was really bummed about it. I thought “hurry up and wait” left my life when I decided I was done with acting. Apparently it applies here as well…

For those of you blissfully unaware, hurry up and wait is your standard day on set. You get rushed around getting into makeup/costumes/places and then you hang around for hours while lights and other equipment is adjusted and people are moved around. You then shoot for twenty minutes or so, then everything gets rearranged for other angles. So you wait again. But God forbid you leave the area or grab a danish from the craft services table, because that’s the exact moment they’ll be ready to shoot and you’re not there. It’s either funny or incredibly annoying. Generally I went with funny, because it made it worth the effort.

So what does hurry up and wait have anything to do with my current situation?

Welp, I thought I had my first moment of incontinence this morning. Just a little trickle of moisture, but still. I’ve always been proud (perhaps weirdly proud) of my pelvic floor muscles, and I just assumed I’d manage to get through this pregnancy without peeing myself. I was disappointed, but figured I’d pushed the issue by sleeping in with a full bladder.

Anyways went to the bathroom. Not pee. Bloody show. Looked exactly like all the books/boards say. (A large gob of snot with a line of blood in it.)

And the most annoying thing about losing some or all of my mucus plug? It’s hurry up and wait AGAIN.

I may go into labor today. I may also not go into labor until next week. Or I may get induced in order to go into labor. It’s this huge moment of action, and yet it basically only means I’m moving closer to labor. Which at 37 weeks + 4 days I already knew.

At least now I know my cervix actually is prepping for labor. It’s nice to know that when I get checked (and I’m hoping to move that up to tomorrow, rather than Monday), it’s not going to be high, hard, and closed.

It’s on.

Now we just have to hurry up and wait.

4 thoughts on “Hurry Up and Wait (Quick Little TMI)

  1. Wahoo! My first pregnancy is the only one I had bloody show and my contractions had hit (but got stronger after) before it happened. No doubt, your mandatory relaxation got things in gear. Just keep resting and your body will take care of the rest. Blessings to you and your soon to be labor!

  2. Yay!! Not long now! Oh, and I’m hearing ya on the final wait, front. It’s like turning the kettle on, watching it boil,waiting til it cools…then doing the same thing over and over! Good luck with everything.x

Thoughts?

