Moving On Up

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife moving sucks.” Sorry Jane, but it’s far more true and relevant to the world today.

So MFH and I moved on the 1st. It was a ridiculously long day, even with the help of my MIL, SIL S, and our hired movers. It was literally the first time in this whole process that I’ve felt very poorly pregnant. By the end of the night my hips and heels hurt so badly, I was waddling like an extremely overweight penguin.

The heel pain turned into mega swollen feet, and after two full days of pain I turned to my old dancer’s remedy. Salt, baby oil, and the hottest water I could stand. I went to bed looking like I wore bright red socks, but I woke up feeling (and looking) normal again.

Feet

A couple of things made the move worse than it should have been, but only one of them is my own fault. I barely ate or drank anything until we settled into the new place. So dumb, I know, but it was just one of those things. I was running around like crazy trying to bag up last minute things, and it was all I could do to throw a few goldfish in my mouth now and then. Several good, healthy meals and gallons of water later and I’m just starting to feel normal now.

The longer lasting issue is the transfer of our phone/internet services. Shockingly, the tech showed up (at 9:30pm!) to hook everything up. Unfortunately, because stupid Bell garbage face owns all the lines, even though we’re not with them they control our access. For reasons that still haven’t been adequately answered, they denied us access and we couldn’t actually use the services. Do you have any idea how annoying it is to have an internet connection, but without internet access? It’s like owning money you can’t spend. 😦

Anyways, they finally agreed to grant us access today, although I’ll have to wait until after work, my midwife appointment, and my dental cleaning before finding out if that promise was actually kept. Le sigh.

Not having internet meant no watching Netflix or ordering the new furniture for the new place. We’d go to check a conversion on a measurement or even just to make sure the TTC was running ok, before realizing that we’d have to use our cell phones for the tasks. I totally get that this is a first world problem. The thing is, we live in the first world. Obviously I wouldn’t be complaining if we were moving/living outside of this privilege.

Amazingly, we made it to a big birthday bash for my SIL E’s beau’s birthday Saturday night. The combo of pain/exhaustion from the move, and not partaking of caffeine or alcohol meant that by eleven I was done and ready for bed. Still it was so fun to see everyone and just have a nice night out.

Sunday I hit 24 weeks, and the start of viability. As much as I want Spawn to stay put for another 16 weeks or so, it’s very comforting to think that should the worst happen, there is a chance of survival.

By Sunday night we had all of our boxes save the books unpacked. (This sounds impressive, but there are 60 boxes of books. I will share photos once our four additional bookcases are in place and the books are all put away.) The coolest part for both MFH and I was that every time we unpacked a box, we had more room and not less. In all our prior residences, the more we unpacked the more crammed in everything became. There was something so wonderful about seeing the space around us. Everything isn’t perfectly in place, but we’re waiting on our aforementioned ordered products to really settle in. More got done this weekend then I was expecting to, that’s for sure.

Which leads me to Monday, and MFH and my 2nd wedding anniversary. We had a very quiet day. Mostly snuggled on the couch and hung pictures/curtains. Spawn got in on the action by rapidfire kicking through me to MFH. Not sure if that was excitement or objection to the cuddling, but MFH and I were generally amused.

Spawn’s movement in general has dramatically increased. (Or at least my being able to feel it has increased.) As soon as I tuck in for the night, Spawn starts with the gymnastics. For the first time last night, I felt a push on both sides of my belly at the same time. I assume it was a full out stretch, but man did it feel bizarre. My mother had weeks of hiccuping fetuses with both myself and my brother, and she’s gleefully waiting for me to experience the same thing. Considering most of Spawn’s movements already feel like weird large muscle twitches, I can’t even imagine hiccups. I wonder if they’ll bother me as much as my own hiccups?

I suppose we’ll have to wait and see…

 

One thought on “Moving On Up

  1. so glad you guys are settled, or almost anyway! good to hear baby is well…

    >________________________________ > From: Made in Toronto >To: jlearn@rogers.com >Sent: Wednesday, November 6, 2013 3:22:11 PM >Subject: [New post] Moving On Up > > > > WordPress.com >Ms.Isabella posted: ““It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife moving sucks.” Sorry Jane, but it’s far more true and relevant to the world today. So MFH and I moved on the 1st. It was a ridiculousl” >

Thoughts?

