Waiting

It’s interesting how, once you’re trying to conceive, everything kind of ties into babies somehow.

Trust me, I know how crazy that sounds. Lemme explain…

Our book club pick for June is Aldous Huxley‘s Brave New World. You know what Brave New World is about? IVF to the extreme. No one has parents, everyone belongs to everyone, and babies are grown in bottles. Promiscuity is encouraged, and birth control is the armor of smart and stupid women alike. [more on my review here on my book blog]

With all the conception/pregnancy books/forums/blogs I read, IVF and genetic modification is often in my mind. Reading this book felt like more of the same.

But that’s not the only thing…

The world of trying to conceive is full of it’s own acronyms and terminology. (More on that next time.) Some of it’s ridiculous, but it all serves a purpose. Something that’s been hitting particularly close to home of late? 2WW, or the “two-week wait.”

This is the time between ovulation and the expected date of your next period. For some the 2WW is actually closer to a few days. For others, 2WW is more like 3.

Long story short, you’re sitting around [read: obsessing about] waiting for your period to start…or not so you can take a test and see, once and for all, if you’re preggo or not.

It’s waiting for something to start. Waiting for your life to change. Driving yourself up the wall waiting.

Sort of like waiting for the call to say I did or (even worse) didn’t get the job.

After over six solid weeks, I finally got the call. Oh, and the job. *blows on knuckles and rubs them on shirt*

I found out on Tuesday, but I wanted to hold out until the ink was dry before I made the public announcement to the interwebs. Thursday I got my official offer, and I start tomorrow.

Honestly, I’m a bit nervous. I want to go in and be awesome, but it’s a new job and a new role so I’m not sure how quickly I’ll fold into it.

Oh…and I’m also in the 2WW. 😉

One thought on “Waiting

  1. Congratulations on the new job! I totally know what you mean about the babies everywhere thing. I swear that every other woman I see is pregnant. And fingers crossed for the 2 weeks.

Thoughts?

