Too Much to Say

Sometimes it’s hard to write a post because I feel like there’s really nothing going on. Unless I have a funny story or something like the DMB post, I just feel like there is nothing to type about. Other times, it’s hard to write a post because there’s too much going on. Usually a bunch of unrelated things that stretch out in all sorts of directions, and I have trouble trying to corral them all into one cohesive commentary. (Although, lets be honest here, I’m not the most “cohesive” writer to begin with.)

Lately, I’m been dealing with the latter. All columns across the board have been ticked off in the last couple of weeks. I could split them into different posts, but I’m thinking I’ll have even more to write about at that point, so I’m just going to soldier on and see where we end up.

I recently got my DNA done by 23andMe. Besides my own personal interest (can we call a bit of an obsession a hobby?) in molecular biology, I’ve always wanted to look into my gene markers for various diseases and ancestry. While your genes can’t tell you with 100% assurance that you will or will not end up with a particular disease or disorder, they can tell you if you’re more or less likely verses the average person.

A big one, for me, was my colorectal cancer markers. My biological father (whom I never spoke to after about 2 years of age), died a few years ago of this terrible cancer. He was only 54 years old. A genetic councilor advised me that I would be considered “high risk” and I should started getting colonoscopies about 10 years before everyone else.  That’s still my plan, but I was surpised to find my genetic risk fator isn’t as high as I expected. Yeah, I have all the “bad” markers, but I also have some “good” ones. It levels out to make my risk factor barely higher than the average person.

And this is why I would rather know than not. I understand that not everyone feels that way, but I can’t imagine not being armed with the knowledge. If it had come back that my risk factor was actually super high? Well, then I can talk to a genetic councilor again with the updated info and we can work out a game plan.

It also told me that I’m not a carrier for any recessive genetic diseases. High five to my parents for not passing on any potentially terrible genes. This also means that MFH doesn’t need to get tested, because he can only potentially pass on one copy of the gene and you need two to make a recessive trait manifest itself.

The other thing that’s neat about the DNA stuff, is finding other people online who are related to me. A woman contacted me after seeing our match online, and because of her, I got a whole slew of ancestry information about my own family tree. By far the coolest thing to me, was finding out that my grandmother’s line goes back to the Melanson Settlement of Acadians in New Brunswick in the 17th century. On my husband’s side, I found people coming off of the Mayflower as well as a family of really unfortunate Pennsylvanians who ran into angry Native Americans.

Melanson Settlement

Melanson Settlement © Parks Canada/K. Sollows

I’m not going to lie, it looks like ancestry is going to be a new time leacher for me. 🙂

The other big thing in my life at the moment? I’m still in the running for the job I first mentioned back in April. It’s a marketing and graphic design position, and man would I love to get it. I’ve got another interview on Friday, and this time with the owners. After tests, interviews, and material mock-ups, I feel like I’ve already been living this job. It would be amazing to do it for real.

In fact, I’m so hopeful that I’ll get it, I wasn’t even going to talk about it on here. Like by saying it out loud [read: online] I’m jinxing myself out of a job. And maybe I am. But I would rather say something about it now, and have it make sense later when I’m stoked for getting it, or bummed for not.

Hopefully, by this time next week, I’ll know for sure and the rest will be moot.

And finally, I rode my last roller coaster for awhile, and drank my last bit of caffeine (not to mention diet coke) as well. This finishes up my 90 days of preconception preparation.

Now I just have to get knocked up. 😉

3 thoughts on “Too Much to Say

  1. The DNA thing is fascinating! I don’t come from a family of many diseases, thank goodness, but I’ve had a few ringers that no one else has had. I’d love to know if it’s a fluke or something greater. Cool!

    • Right? It was so comforting to me to get back a non-carrier status. I’m panicked enough about cooking up the best little one I can, without adding 25% chances of recessive disorders.

      I hate being all “buy this!” about anything, but I do think it was the best hundred bucks I’ve spent in awhile.

  2. Pingback: Waiting | Made in Toronto

Thoughts?

