Happy Scare Day

Yesterday was MFH’s birthday. I got to take him out for dinner, made him Key Lime Pie, and got him a couple of things to open. He’s never really much of a Birthday guy, so it was nice to make a mini-big deal about things.

So…speaking of mini-big deal…

I had a bit of a pregnancy scare today. Yeah, I know, I’m hoping to get pregnant. But not YET.

Let me explain…

I’ve been regularly charting my BBT (Basal Body Temperature) since February. Even though I’ve got my own BBT chart, list, and graphs in Excel, I decided to chart on Fertility Friend online. Mostly because they’ll do all the diagnostics for you. (I may be borderline crazy about making lists and spreadsheets, but it’s usually the process and not the result that interests me.) Also because I looked at the arrhythmia heart monitor that my temps were trying to imitate and couldn’t really figure out what the hell was going on.

In my defense, Fertility Friend had no clue what was going on either. Their analysis was basically like, “Um, are you sure you’re doing this right?” I was, but it all goes back to my never-the-same-girl twice periods. Twice in a month? Sure! Skip a month or two (or four)? Why not?!

Yeah, lot’s of fun.

I’ve been doing things to correct this, and it’s working (more on that next time when I can take the time to do my preconception cocktail justice). This cycle has been charting beautifully and I could have done the diagnostic myself. There’s just one thing…

Fertility Friend gave me the heads up that I now have a triphasic chart pattern, and this could indicate a pregnancy.

Even though I have a couple days before my (hopefully regular) girl stuff shows up, and despite feeling like the second temperature jump had more to do with the weather and my resent exercise resurgence, I still had a mini panic attack. Could and are seem so close together in my brain, and that’s not really a good thing.

I made it through my barre class without thinking about it, but my antsy energy after had me hitting the Eaton Centre for a burn off. I actually walked into two different pharmacies, stared at the $20 pee-on-a-sticks, and convinced myself to walk out. I saw a movie. I headed home.

I did not make it home without a test. I’m also not pregnant (of course).

Next time, I think I’m going to roll up some money and pee directly on it. You know, cut out the middle man. :p

Thoughts?

